WHCA 2015-2016 election results / by Mark Sternfels


Dear Residents,

On March 10, 2015, the WHCA held its annual Board elections.  The following are the newly-elected Board members for the 2015-16 term:

Pres-Elect                     Casey Ballard
Treasurer                       Jason Williams
Secretary                      Susan Pennebaker
Infrastructure                 William Maslin
Deed Restrictions          David Jordan
Communications           Mark Sternfels
Membership                  William Getschow
Security                        Steve Howard
Beautification                Vicky Bettis

Note that I was elected as President-Elect last term, and will therefore take over as President on April 1.

For those of you who attended the meeting and elections last night, you might be puzzled by the result of the Deed Restrictions position.  Allow me to explain.  Prior to the meeting, David Jordan was the only person who was nominated for the Deed Restrictions position.  At the meeting, however, a floor nomination was made: a resident nominated herself at the meeting to be a candidate for the Deed Restrictions position.  The Nominating Committee reviewed the copy of the Bylaws that was present at the meeting, saw no restriction on floor nominations, and purported to accepted the resident’s floor nomination.  During the subsequent vote, the newly-nominated candidate received more votes than Mr. Jordan.  After the meeting, however, it came to the Nominating Committee's and the Board's attention that, in June 2006, the WHCA Board approved a resolution that expressly prohibits any floor nominations (that resolution may be found in the Bylaws section of our website at the link titled “Amendment III”).  As a result, the Board determined that the Nominating Committee had no discretion or ability to accept the floor nomination and no votes could be cast in that candidate’s favor.  Consequently, the only votes cast for a candidate who was properly nominated for the Deed Restrictions position in accordance with the Bylaws were cast for David Jordan.  As such, he is the duly-elected VP, Deed Restrictions for the 2015-16 term.  The Nominating Committee and the Board would like to thank the floor-nominated candidate for her willingness to serve the neighborhood, and we sincerely apologize for any confusion caused by last night's election.  We will make every effort to improve the process to ensure that this does not happen again.

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any questions.

Tim McConn
WHCA Board President, 2015-16
Nominating Committee